Re: John 8

“You are beautiful.
I see it in your eyes,
in your heart.
You do not long
for this world,
but for the grace
that would set you
free.
So spread your wings and fly,
my love, from the sorrow
that draws you down.
Spread your wings and fly,
my love, from the despair
that keeps you bound.
Take flight today,
my love, in the beauty
that you’ve found,
Take flight today,
my love, as a queen
without a crown.”

Dusting his hands, he stood.
The crowd had left.
The woman, alone, was weeping,
her tears mixing with the words
he had written on the ground.
“Has no one condemned you?”
he asked tenderly.
“No one, Lord … no one,” she whispered.
“Then neither do I, my love,
neither do I …”

 

About Eric

Living each day as a husband, father and friend; remembering to seek the light and avoid the dark; thanking God for His love, and mercy. I can't do this on my own.
This entry was posted in In Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Re: John 8

  1. Debbie says:

    My tears are mixing with these words too, Eric. Thank you for taking the time to write such beautiful expressions of His love for us. God bless you and Happy Father’s Day!

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    Hi Eric–I’m a sister-friend of Debbie, and this is my first visit, courtesy of her nudge. You have very lovely poetry here–beautiful and reverential–I can feel His Spirit. God bless you abundantly today.

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    Eric–my other comments are in your spam, but they’re nice! God bless you–sis Caddo

    • Eric says:

      Thank you, sis Caddo! This is one of my favorites. I’ve shared this as part of a message at the street ministry. It touches my heart so!

  4. Eric says:

    Isn’t He awesome! Thank you for your kind words, Deb, and God bless you, too!

Comments are closed.